Canadian Football League: A Guide to the CFL

The Canadian Football League (CFL) is the highest level of professional Canadian football competition in Canada. The league has nine teams, each of which is based in a Canadian city. They are split into two divisions, the East Division having four teams and the West Division having five teams.

The CFL season runs from June to November, with each team playing 18 games. The top six teams in the regular season qualify for the playoffs, which culminate in the Grey Cup, the championship game of the CFL.

The CFL is a unique and exciting league, with some key differences between Canadian football and American football. The most notable difference is the field size. The CFL field is 110 yards long and 65 yards wide, compared to the 100-yard by 53.33-yard field in American football. This larger field encourages more lateral passing and open play.

Another key difference is the number of downs. In the CFL, teams have three downs to gain 10 yards, compared to four downs in American football. This makes it more difficult for teams to move the ball down the field, and it also leads to more exciting plays, as teams are more likely to go for it on fourth down.

Finally, the CFL has an extra player on the field on offense. The 12th man is typically used as a running back or wide receiver, and it adds another layer of complexity to the offensive game.

History of the CFL

The CFL was founded in 1956, but its roots date back to the late 19th century. The first Canadian football league was the Ontario Rugby Football Union, which was founded in 1884. The Western Canada Rugby Football Union was founded in 1907, and the two leagues merged in 1936 to form the Canadian Rugby Union.

In 1946, the Canadian Rugby Union split into two conferences: the Western Interprovincial Football Union (WIFU) and the Interprovincial Rugby Football Union (IRFU). The two conferences merged in 1956 to form the Canadian Football League.

The CFL has a rich history, and some of the greatest players to ever play the game have graced its fields. Some of the most famous CFL players include Doug Flutie, Damon Allen, Warren Moon, and Tom Wilkinson.

CFL teams

The nine CFL teams are:

  • East Division: Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Ottawa Redblacks, Montreal Alouettes, Toronto Argonauts
  • West Division: British Columbia Lions, Calgary Stampeders, Edmonton Elks, Saskatchewan Roughriders, Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Each team has its own unique history and culture. The Toronto Argonauts are the most successful team in CFL history, with 18 Grey Cup championships. The Winnipeg Blue Bombers are the defending Grey Cup champions.

CFL rules

In addition to the differences in field size, number of downs, and extra player on offense, there are a number of other rules that are unique to the CFL. Some of the most notable differences include:

  • Rouge: If a team kicks the ball into the opponent’s end zone and it is not returned, the kicking team is awarded a rouge, which is worth one point.
  • Single: If a team kicks the ball through the uprights from the field of play, they are awarded a single, which is worth one point.
  • Touchdowns: Touchdowns are worth six points in the CFL, just as they are in American football. However, there is one key difference: in the CFL, a team can score a rouge if they kick the ball through the uprights after the touchdown. This is known as a two-point convert.

CFL playoffs

The CFL playoffs begin in November, after the regular season has ended. The top three teams in each division qualify for the playoffs, along with the two best crossover teams (the next two teams in the standings, regardless of division).

The playoffs are a single-elimination tournament, with the winners of the divisional semifinals advancing to the divisional finals. The winners of the divisional finals advance to the Grey Cup, which is played on the first Sunday in December.

The Grey Cup

The Grey Cup is the championship game of the CFL. It is the oldest professional football championship game in North America, and it is one of the most prestigious sporting events in Canada.

The Grey Cup is typically played in front of a sold-out crowd at a major stadium in Canada. The game is televised nationally, and it is a major cultural event in Canada.

The CFL today

The CFL is a thriving league, and it is gaining popularity outside of Canada. The league is broadcast in over 20 countries, and it has a growing international following.

The CFL is also committed to developing

Share This Post:

Leave a Comment